Monday, February 22, 2010

Non-planning plus computer glitches

Well, my computer has proved unfixable this time. I am at a loss. It runs so slowly that I cannot access the internet, which makes it extremely hard to troubleshoot things. I know the basic problem, but the problem with that is that it is traceable back to any number of different problems that I unfortunately am not a sophisticated enough computer user to solve. I have googled and googled and googled on my mother's computer. I've tried many things. I've been going back to it every several days because I simply can't stand to deal with it for very long most of the time. It's stressing me out, for sure, but it is also proving to be a welcome distraction from other things which I have ZERO control over and are stressing me out far more than my computer not working properly. I can obviously still use a computer, so this isn't entirely tragic, it's just annoying. I enjoy having my own personal computer on which I can do anything. Not to mention I have personal music, photos, documents, etc. on there which I would prefer not to lose. If the problem truly is unfixable...well...I can probably save documents and such without too much hassle so long as the computer still turns on. Even so, I am unwilling to go and pay someone to fix it for me. It is about five years old. I was thinking about buying myself a new one anyway as a graduation present. Graduation is not so far away now, but it is still pretty far away, and the present truly would be just for me, using my own money, of which I am rather short on.
Currently the computer is running slower than ever, and I am attempting to do a registry scan while also looking into my event viewer to see if I can have any miraculous discoveries even though I am certain I will not understand any of it. It's taking forever. I don't care, I need the distraction. I'm stressed to the max, although I have calmed down considerably. I was literally at the anxious shaky point last week, but that's not a very effective way to be, so I've calmed down. I know there's no use stressing over things out of my control, but it's hard not to...as of course these are things that I wish were in my control. They're not no matter what I do.
We're supposed to get big snow tomorrow, and possibly Thursday. Shocker. I washed my car yesterday anyway, as it was disgusting. I have to say, I'm at the point where I am truly tired of snow. Today was almost springlike, and I just wished it would stay that way, especially since Tuesday and Thursday are my work nights. Tonight, there are no distractions but this computer. I think the lack of information currently is the only thing keeping me sane - that and the fact that hearing nothing at least means nothing has necessarily changed and there is still hope. I am sort of clinging to minuscule shreds of hope right now. I guess it's rather pathetic, but what else can I do? I am cold. I feel ill-prepared for what is coming, but the truth is that it is impossible to prepare for in light of recent events. Therefore all it does is cause stress. I'm not a planner anyway, but if I have to defend planning, I will say that it does tend to alleviate stress. At least if you have a plan, you have something to look forward to. I suppose even plans can fail...if Plan A fails and you go to Plan B and that fails and you reach Plan C, your plans probably never would work anyway, so I guess it's better to not plan at all and just let things happen. That is pretty flawed logic, but I didn't do well in Logic class anyway, and it makes me feel better whether or not it is flawed. I don't particularly care. Anyway, I suppose I will find something else to distract me as I've run out of useless things to complain about.

No comments:

Post a Comment