Saturday, November 26, 2011
I adore the people I work with for the most part - they are fantastic people that I don't mind seeing daily. I'm just bored with the job. I've come to the point where I can't do much more than what I'm doing, and I'm not really interested in doing more. My knowledge of the world of wine, beer, and liquor has been sufficiently enhanced, and I do enjoy learning about it, but I don't plan on making a career out of it, as much as my boss might suggest I do. I'm really sick of the customers. I'm not sure if it's just the time of year, or if I'm extra sensitive for some reason, but they've been getting under my skin more than normal. I'm generally very good at letting idiot customers (of which there are many) not get the best of me. I shake it off and move on. That's been harder lately. I find it hard not to roll my eyes at them. I always so want to open my mouth and tell them what's what. I can't do that. It's not my job. I just want to. I'm sick of customers who assume they know more than me. You don't. You never will unless you work in this business. I'm bored.
Boredom seems to be the story of my life. I get bored of things easily. I find a beer I like - awesome. I'll drink it one or two times more maybe until I'm onto the next one. Same with wines. I do go back to ones I like eventually, I just need variety in between. I am the queen of seasonal everything. It's in season or not. I'll just find something I like for this season. I'm not one to cry over seasonal beers disappearing, nor limited releases. They always come back. If a limited release is good enough, a brewery will release it again and it will end up on shelves as a regular rotation. If not, I'll just find something else. Beer and wine are so varied which is one of the reasons I love it. I can always try something new.
I also get bored with boys (men? I don't meet many that can fall under that category), but all the same...boredom. Boys get so dull after a while. They all have their few quirks that are cute for a while. Then they do the same shit over and over and over. It's so tiresome. I have no idea if I'm any more interesting, but clearly I don't need to criticize myself on my own blog. My cursor seems to have disappeared and I am trying to figure out why my 60+ year old mother feels the need to stay up until nearly 3 am. I will outlast you mom, I promise. I'm so my parents daughter sometimes it scares me. Too much alike. I have a lot of both of them in me. It's easier to compare myself to my dad as he is definitely the more hip one of my parents, but I inherited much of my mother as well, and I know it. I don't always like being like either one of them, as I think by nature they are very negative and cynical people. They are thinking people, and too often thinking seems to cause negativity and cynicism.
Monday, September 5, 2011
Everything now is matter of fact. I'm more just watching how people act, without reacting or doing anything. Life is a hell of a lot easier when I just don't bother to get involved in stupid things. So...in a way I've stopped trying. Not for myself, for sure. I'm still fighting like hell to do the right things for myself. But I guess with other people - I'm just watching them now, and feeling nothing. Feeling nothing, as they break up and get back together and get married and lose jobs and start jobs. I don't have the energy anymore. I don't have the energy for people fighting and angry or upset. Even people who are elated and happy and thrilled. Nothing ever changes, and I continually watch people live up to the worst versions of themselves. Maybe it just becomes too painful to watch after a while so I'm numbing myself to it. I don't know. At the same time, I feel happy right now, at this moment in time, with my life. What makes me unhappy is the knowledge that at some point I have to do something different, because it will not be acceptable for me to do this forever, what I'm doing now. So...I will have to put myself in more miserable situations in order to change things for myself because my current situation is no longer acceptable. And it is this that tortures me, because I feel I am running out of options, and all the while falling behind, and well...that sort of kills my good spirits.
It certainly doesn't help anything that the state of America and its government is pretty fucking awful. This is the worst I've ever seen it in my lifetime. It's just arguing and name calling and finger pointing from one side to the other, and from the people actually in power, lies on top of lies on top of lies. We have lies from the people in office and lies from the people trying to run for office. We have a nation of people who are no longer at all united. We have people who don't even remember what it is to help out their fellow man once in a while. These people are so ANGRY. I just don't get it. Being angry is accomplishing nothing, but being complacent isn't either. I think that nobody knows what the fuck to do. At this point, listening to half of the country we all may as well throw up our hands and grab our guns and pray for our lives because, well, fuck the government, right?
I understand everyone, and I understand that people are frustrated and people don't know what to do. I understand that no one has money anymore and yet they are always asking for a little more and raising the taxes a little higher, and you know what? No, it's not fair. There really isn't a whole lot of "fair" involved. The problem is that no one has a good fucking solution. No one can figure out a way to give everyone an equal and fair opportunity. It's impossible to have a social program that some people will not figure out a way to exploit. We have tried the "solution" of tax breaks for the rich and hoping it trickles down the the rest of the population - can we please just all accept that this doesn't work? I feel as though the problem right now is that there is no one person who can feasibly fix the economy and the state of our nation, so all of this debate and BS over presidential candidates and who can do what is all nonsense. I'm so fucking sick of hearing about it that I want to go live on a mountain somewhere far away from anything political and go crazy like Tom Hanks did in Castaway and start talking to a flipping volleyball. That would be vastly preferable to listening to all of these rich assholes talk about Michele Bachmann vs Ron Paul vs Obama vs whoever goddamn else. Like fuck, I just want to enjoy my life.
Unfortunately I guess, life is complicated. It really shouldn't be all that complicated - either you live or you die, but we are supposedly so much more advanced than animals so we have to complicate it. I'm tired of it all. This is a terrible entry. Oh well.
Thursday, August 4, 2011
I really thought I'd be in a different place at this time in my life, but it seems that that is not in my cards. I'm bad at predicting my own future, and it's probably a good thing that it never seems to work out my way, because if I look back at times where I wish I could have chosen a different path I can see how much worse things would have been right now. They are not terrible. I cannot complain. I guess I just get bored easily. Like my father says though, really nothing about life matters except water, food, and shelter. Without those things you would die. Other than that, and all of the other petty things we humans worry about, there is nothing really important. Yes, we assign importance to things - it'd get very old very fast without social interaction, or fun, or work. And work has to be done in order to have food and shelter. Without fun, we'd all go crazy anyway. So, since we are alive - and not sure what comes after life, we will keep on trying to do our best to fill our lives with something, that elusive anything that will give us substance and purpose, and make us more than just an animal with basic instinct.
I like to become introspective about the meaning of life at 12:3o am when I should be in bed because I have work tomorrow - to serve all the alcoholics their booze so they can forget about life for a while. I always have this sneaking feeling that we all try too hard sometimes to make life meaningful when really in the end it won't matter at all. Then again, for the time we are here, it does matter, to us, and those around us, and so we keep on going despite the facts of our existence. I suppose we wouldn't exist if we didn't matter, so we may as well try. I'm speaking in circles now that are beginning to make less and less sense. Books and bed call me.
Monday, June 27, 2011
Dispatch show
Monday, May 23, 2011
The "Rapture"
It's nice to feel like I'm making progress even if it's going very slowly and taking a long time. I'll get somewhere eventually. I really don't have a choice. I'm always slower to get things like this done than other people because I am not as quick as other people to jump into things in which I will be miserable. I have to take my time and find something that suits me and my needs and in which I feel comfortable. I feel like I'm wasting time otherwise. At least life isn't boring at the moment. In fact it's rather action packed. I should learn never to complain about a boring spell in my life because as my life tends to go, it will do a complete 180 and suddenly everything will be chaos again.
Some crazy religious fanatic predicted the end of the world for this past Saturday. The Rapture, he called it, when all non believers would descend to hell and all the believers would be taken in by God and live in eternal happiness or some such nonsense. Mostly this was all just amusing to me. Lots of people used it as an excuse to drink and throw parties. I know the majority didn't take it seriously of course but there are always whackjobs out there who will believe any crackpot theory someone comes up with because he suddenly "decoded" the bible and came up with a bunch of numbers and a formula to make it sound like he actually knew what he was talking about. I have a feeling that if God were going to end the world, He wouldn't let anyone know about it. We'd all be taken by surprise, and then, we'd all be dead. And who knows what would happen after that.
I'm clearly not a religious person. I wouldn't call myself an atheist but I tend to ignore most of it and not care very much. Some religions and religious ideas are interesting, but I certainly won't blindly follow a faith. Some people need that faith. I was raised without any religion, therefore I don't need it. It's completely unimportant to me and my life. I enjoy living life on my own terms, doing things as I wish to, and following my own moral code that has nothing to do with a book written a long long time in the past. I feel completely content knowing that I never have to feel guilty for the things I do and the choices I make. People are by nature imperfect, so you just have to do your best in today's world to be the best person you can be. Basically, I am untroubled by God, religion, religious rules, etc. My family is Catholic, so at times I do attend church for a wedding or funeral. There are definitely nice aspects of church and faith and good things that they do, but at the same time I know I'll never find a need to attend church on a regular basis. Anyway, this is also completely irrelevant to the point of religious fanaticism which I was trying to make. Pretty much all the fanatics do is provide entertainment for the non fanatics, so I suppose in a way they're still doing something good for society.
Tuesday, March 29, 2011
Another Quote
""As we found out later, Joe doesn't really do insincere politeness. He's genuine, and when he says "Let's have lunch or drinks," he really means it. Believe us, in the 5 years of publishing this blog, we can't tell you how many people who never have any intention of doing so, say "Let's have drinks" to us."
Oh, I believe you all right. I literally did not know the meaning of the word "flaky" until I had met an American person for the first time.
But how could I have known that "We should hang out" really just means "goodbye", with zero intention of ever actually hanging out?""
I felt this was worthy of a comment as I think this is a flaw of the majority of Americans. I don't understand why Americans assume no one ever wants to spend time with them, and if someone says they want to, more likely than not, you never will. I think it's a combination of things. It's a "coolness" thing. An "I'm so busy I have no time for anyone thing, therefore I must be cool," combined with a poor confidence factor of "If I actually talk to this person they are going to think I am creepy and stalking them". The obvious answer to this dilemma for most Americans is to friend the person on facebook so they can stalk the shit out of them at their leisure without consequence. I guess I never realized it was a cultural thing until I read this comment though. To me, as an American, it's almost proper etiquette. I can remember times being distinctly weirded out if someone contacted me after meeting at a party only one time to hang out. It seems to be some sort of unwritten rule that you have to see someone a certain number of times before it becomes ok to spend time with them outside of that setting in a friendship type manner. Dating is excluded from these rules. I think it's because forced awkwardness is another unwritten rule of dating, and meeting someone only once and seeing them again almost guarantees awkwardness. I would like to point out that I am sure there are people to whom these rules don't matter and who march to their own drum, but I agree with the commenter that it is a distinctly normative thing to assume in our culture that even if you say that you want to "hang out sometime" you really don't mean it in most cases, and the other person is supposed to accept that without question and without getting offended. People are fucking weird. All of us.
Social culture is so strange when you break it down. I guess it becomes more obvious how ridiculous something like this is when it is mentioned to you by someone from the outside looking in.
Thursday, March 24, 2011
Someone's Comment
A comment on a post from TQC, aka The Question Club, my absolute favorite community to stalk on Livejournal, and also the reason that I never delete my Livejournal account. Thank you. I needed this comment. Too fucking true. Anyone who wants to refute this point and try to prove their perfection...go ahead. All that means is that the next day your cat will die, your car will break down, you'll get laid off, and then to top it all off a bird will take a shit that happens to land on your head. Sorry people, that's just the way the world works. Appearances are just appearances. The people who are truly happy in their lives are the ones who are able to roll with whatever happens and laugh through the rain.
Monday, March 7, 2011
Planned Parenthood
One word can sum up how I feel about this. Ridiculous. Oh, also ludicrous. Completely backward, irresponsible, and quite honestly a little disgusting. It is pretty easy to see the arguments, and the people behind them. For whatever reason, Planned Parenthood seems to be in popular media associated almost exclusively with abortions. People who don't know any better and are anti-abortion think this is entirely beneficial. Except...the money that the government gives to Planned Parenthood does NOT cover abortions and never has. The government does not fund abortions in any way. If I want to kill my fetus, I'm paying for it myself, out of pocket. Planned Parenthood does, however, perform abortions if a woman chooses to have one, so it's pretty obvious that this "brilliant" plan to reduce our deficit is a masked attempt of conservatives to push along their anti abortion agenda. They don't want to back an organization that provides abortions to girls whether or not the majority of the services offered and utilized by women there are extremely beneficial to women and women's health. PP offers routine gynecological care as well as free screenings for all STI's and cervical cancer. They also offer many different types of contraception, pregnancy planning, etc etc etc. PP is great because it is easy, and it is anonymous. Their primary mission is to keep women healthy and educated. There are statistics that prove that they have succeeded. I have always felt at ease knowing that no matter what happens, I can rely on Planned Parenthood to be there in case I need it. I, in fact, did utilize their services at one point. I wanted to go on birth control. Not living at home at the time and not wanting to wait for an appointment with my regular ob-gyn, I used PP. It was easy, it was quick, and it was anonymous. For girls who can't afford a regular OB, Planned Parenthood is there. It makes me very angry to see this country even considering a piece of legislation so backward. It seems as if they would rather our country regress. America needs to stop being so afraid of change and move forward. We should be a nation of progress. It frustrates me that we are seeing things like this happen in today's day and age when women in the past stood up and said, hey, boys. We matter. We count. Our health counts. Our happiness counts. We can take care of ourselves. We want to take care of ourselves. And we're going to do that if you like it or not. Women have proved themselves, for years. We have proved ourselves to be intelligent and competent. Women successfully raise children while holding full time jobs. These things happen every day. In spite of all of this progress, we are still faced with politicians who can't come up with a better plan to reduce their deficit than denying millions of women preventative medical care.
My answer is, to the men: You are not women, and you will never understand what it is to be faced with even the prospect of carrying a child, and the life changing consequences that can have. You don't know what it feels like to worry constantly that you may get pregnant and not be able to support a baby, and that the guy might disappear as soon as your baby is born, and you might be left alone. You will never understand what it is to make these choices because you will never have to. Please, listen to the women who have fought hard to have things like Planned Parenthood available to them. Cutting funding will only increase the number of children born into unfortunate circumstances because of lack of access to proper contraception. More women will die, and we will spend more treating diseases and cancers in their later stages rather than preventing them or treating them early on. Planned Parenthood may provide a service that goes against your morals, but that is not the service you are cutting. Give us women a chance, please.
To the women (who are for this legislation): You insult us, and you drive us further backward in time. Do not deny the millions of women that have benefited from PP's services in favor of your own selfish beliefs.
I have a very hard time understanding women who speak in favor of things like this. It makes me think that they have never had anything denied them in their life and have always been able to afford quality care. You have to learn how to step out of your own shoes into another person's. You have to learn how to be critical of your own upbringing, and see where your beliefs truly come from. Educate yourself, learn, and read, and exercise compassion even when it is difficult. You never know where a person is coming from.
Monday, February 21, 2011
Downfall
Wednesday, February 9, 2011
Rants, Raves, Thoughts
Ex: "I just can't STAND all this snow, I'm moving to Florida! This is just ridiculous I just can't believe it bleh bleh blah blah moan moan cleaning snow sucks blah blah moan."
"No one can drive in the snow! I am the best driver ever in seen in snow and everyone else sucks, they're terrible, took me TWO HOURS to get to work blah blah moan moan."
That's enough examples. Thinking about these people makes me want to throw things. The biggest problem for me is that many of these snow bitchy people are people that I know and usually love. There are, of course, the people who love snow, and then do what I'm doing, which is to complain about the people who hate it, but it seems that these people are few and far between. I just get tired of listening to it after awhile. No one is original, but everyone thinks that they are. The morning after a huge snowstorm, when every status on Facebook is about snow or snow removal, and how bad your morning commute was, it's a little sad. I do not need a motherfucking picture of your snow covered car. MY CAR LOOKS EXACTLY THE SAME. I do not need a picture of yours. I can simply look out my window. Holy shit, a snow covered car! Imagine! Good thing I saw yours on the internet first so I could compare.
People in general make me angry lately. I guess I'm frustrated myself, but I feel as though I walk around in a world completely blinded to all truth. A woman was in the store the other day talking about how much school the kids have missed because of the snow. She was angry because "I already booked my vacation and now with all the snow, it's going to be that last week of school - well that's just too bad for the school, my kids are just not going to go. And can you imagine, the school is saying that kids will only be excused that week with a doctor's note! Well I never! No one could predict 80 inches of snow, and I already booked my vacation!"
I wanted to slap this woman so hard. Really? You already booked your vacation and your poor children might have to miss out because of some snow? How horrible that they might have to stay in school for an extra week! Fuck you, you entitled cunt. People are constantly blaming the schools for not properly educating children. This is a way for shitty parents to shift blame onto an institution for not raising their kids properly. The problem is with students who are ill-prepared and entitled and every time they fuck up get excused because Mommy and Daddy call the school and complain and threaten a lawsuit. How dare the school try to discipline your fragile little lamb of a child who can do no wrong. I certainly do not mean to say that there are no bad teachers and never a reason to complain about a school, or that the school always handles these issues properly. I'm simply pointing out that a lot of parents these days seem to think their kids are special little snowflakes who must be protected from everything, and this is why these kids grow up and become incompetent assholes who frequent my line in the package store to complain about everything.
This entry has turned into a rant. Since I'm ranting, I'll bring up another topic which caught my attention the other day - namely, some guy I read about on yahoo who is touting the idea that kids don't necessarily need to go to college because it is too expensive and a waste of time.
http://finance.yahoo.com/tech-ticker/james-altucher%27s-8-alternatives-to-college-535903.html?tickers=COCO,APOL,ESI,DV,EDMC,STRA,^DJI
I think I found this interesting because I completely understand where this man is coming from and I think he has good intentions. It worries me though, that people will start to think this is legitimate. He obviously hasn't exactly thought his ideas through fully, since if you watch the video he basically says that he is not saying that no one should ever go to college but that for some kids it might be a good idea to wait and explore other options, and that not going to college doesn't necessarily mean you will end up flipping burgers the rest of your life. On this point, I agree. I do not agree, however, that we should start encouraging kids to not go to college. I struggled with and still struggle with some of the same questions he brought up - namely, how much you actually learn in college. As someone who attended a four year public university in a humanities major (which we all know we can't do much with in the field upon graduation with no advanced degree), I have an answer. That answer is that students learn a great deal in college. Unfortunately, most of that learning does not come in the form of test scores or essay grades. I was technically, in terms of grades, a poor student. I rarely studied. The problem is that the type of learning I'm talking about can't be measured or categorized. It comes in many different forms. Grades are so often not an accurate depiction of intelligence. I guess in tests where they test students to see what they have learned academically in college, they don't do much better four years later than they did entering as a freshman. I can completely see that. It makes perfect sense. Most classes I took I retained very little actual solid information. If it's information that you are not going to continue to use and is simply memorized in order to use it on a test, it won't be retained in the long run. The best way to retain important information is to use it in the real world, which the world of academia is severely lacking. After all of this and knowing that I wasn't such a huge fan of college, it seems odd that I would still advocate for it, but I do simply because there truly aren't any alternatives that are better. The pros outweigh the cons in this case for me. For most people who are not incredibly ambitious and need a little direction, college provides that. It also provides a bridge from high school to the real professional world.
I would say to anyone that has the resources and ambition to pull off any one of Altucher's alternatives to college to go for it. How I wish I had the funds to take time off and travel the world. Doesn't everyone? Unfortunately that is not a reality for most students. In fact, it is going to be easier for most students to travel while they are in college than not. It is probably easier to concentrate on creating great art while actually in school than just on your own. There are numerous opportunities available to college students that aren't available anywhere else. I wish that I took advantage of them now. Truthfully, I have some regrets about that time of my life. I feel a little bit as if I wasted it. On the other hand, I still feel I learned a lot, both in the classroom and out of it, and in so many different ways. I definitely think that college isn't for everyone. I agree that it is overpriced. I avoided being in a huge debt by attending a public in state university, so tuition was a lot lower. I certainly think that people should be asking these questions and trying to come up with solutions to them. I think that being able to cut tuition costs as well as add some sort of practical element to four year university study would be greatly beneficial to future students. I don't have any solutions for it, of course, but that's why I'm writing a blog about it and not an article. Problems like these are too complex to just start naming off rash solutions like don't send your kids to college at all. Too often we forget how statistics are generated. They don't take into account things that may be so important, so it's important to look at every statistic published with a critical eye. So often it's said that the most important skill people learn in college is critical thinking, and I completely agree.
Wednesday, January 5, 2011
Tis a New Year
Anyway, enough negativity. My positive energy has finally been coming through lately. My confidence has returned, I feel happy and hopeful. I hope this doesn't go away. I feel much more like myself again. I'm enjoying it. Since the past few months haven't been the easiest, this is a welcome change. I need to buy some new boots. I bought a guitar. I was hoping it would come today, but if not today, tomorrow. It's a cheap one, but I've always wanted to learn to play, and if it turns out I don't have enough patience for it, my mother told me she would help me out a bit with guitar lessons. I figure it can't be as hard as playing the violin, so it shouldn't be too bad if I can just for once commit enough time to it. Off I go I think - I'm hungry and I need a shower.
