Tuesday, March 23, 2010

New Fish

I spent my rainy day off yesterday being bored for most of the day, and then I dragged Allen out with me to buy a new betta fish. Finn, my last one died about a month ago, so I decided it was time for a replacement fish. I like to keep a fish because I move so often and it's the only pet that is extremely cheap and easy to move. It would be hard to have a dog or a cat when you don't know where you're going to live next, and as soon as you have a pet you need to have a place where pets are allowed, which always limits your living options. Bettas are pretty easy to take care of...they basically take care of themselves. You feed them and clean their bowl every so often...I don't even do it very often, and they are fine for a couple years.

Finn was probably old...he had stopped eating for a week or two before he died. I had Leonard before him, and Indigo before Leonard. Leonard was the one Jess and I had when we lived together in an apartment a couple years ago. This new fish is as of yet nameless. I seem to be having trouble coming up with a name. I may look for inspiration in the names of alcohol at work tonight. He is a Crowntail Betta, which means he looks the same but his fins look like prongs instead of being rounded. He was two dollars more expensive. He's pretty cool looking. Allen and I were joking about naming him after sushi.

The weather has been exactly like the weatherman said. Rainy. It's not really cold, but it's not warm either. This weekend we might get some sunshine again. I'm very excited for this summer for some reason. I just have a feeling it's going to be a good one, with good weather, as the last one was rainy and depressing...and I was depressed for most of it, until the end of course. I will be looking for a job this summer, but I don't really have much hope of finding one, so I intend on enjoying my rent-free months to the fullest, without being held back by anything. I am completely free this summer to do as I please with who I please. Tom Petty is coming back at the end of the Summer, and after the summer is over...well. I won't be going back to school. It's a strange thought, actually. It scares me a little, but an uncertain future sounds much more pleasing to me than enduring the return to school, paying hundreds of dollars for books, suffering cold walks around campus and listening to people who are still in what I call the "party all the time" phase talk about their weekend plans. I really don't enjoy those aspects of school, which I suppose is why I enjoyed my online class so much. It literally was all academics, all the time. It was all learning. It was a three week course, in which I learned far more than I have in a lot of my classes. I actually like learning. I don't like going to class and everything that goes along with it. Strange thoughts. I am completely terrified, but it's a good terrified, if you can even say that.
I only have to find one job. I always need to keep that in mind. When you are looking for a job, and you apply for months and no one hires you, it becomes self-defeating, but all you need to find is ONE. One job that will get your foot in the door. After that, finding a job becomes easier because you have that lovely thing called experience which all job ads indicate they want. I hope that 2010 is my year. I'm glad I don't have anything holding me back really. I am not expecting to find a high-paying job right off the bat. I am simply looking for a position which will give me experience and give me some sort of direction. We shall see, as they say.

No comments:

Post a Comment