Thursday, February 9, 2012

FAT v. skinny, skinny v. FAT

For whatever damn reason, my facebook page is blowing up with people posting pictures of girls of various sizes trying to defend what is the "perfect" sized woman. Let me start out by clarifying that I am pretty sure I qualify as a skinny girl. I'm 5'5", 115 lbs. Not model skinny, but skinny. Below average weight for my height but not even close to the unhealthy range. I've been about the same size since about sophomore year of high school. I've always been a skinny girl - I inherited it from my father who is 6'2" and skinny as a rail. Thanks genetics. I much appreciate not having to worry about my weight.

This has not, however, stopped people from giving me shit about my weight for pretty much my entire life...starting at about middle school age I'd say. I think it's a common problem for girls of any size. Everyone has an opinion (my facebook page proves this) about what ideal body weight is and what is and isn't a healthy weight. The comments about my weight range from "You're anorexic/bulimic and starve yourself," to "I'm so jealous and wish I could eat whatever I wanted and not gain weight," to "you're gonna blow up like a balloon one day when your metabolism slows down and then you're gonna gain a whole bunch of weight." Yup, thanks for the vote of confidence. Anyway, the point here isn't my weight, or it being ideal, it's simply that there is a range of body types, therefore there is a range of healthy weight. Weight is related to height as well as many other factors.

I am incredibly sick of girls thinking that they need to maintain a certain body type in order to impress guys. Guys are not all cut from the same mold. If you read crappy women's magazines like Cosmo they are, but the real world is a bit different. Being a small chested women, I have grown to appreciate this, and realize that there are many many guys out there who have no problem with and actually prefer smaller breasts. There are just as many who like the opposite. Some guys prefer a smaller build woman and some prefer one with more "curves" as the Politically Correct universe would have me say. And who the hell cares? I prefer a certain type of look on a guy as well. I know there are girls who like different than me - I question my two best friends all the time as I just can't understand the men they are attracted to. People are going to be attracted to different people for different reasons - shockingly even ones that aren't related to looks at all sometimes. It doesn't matter. What does matter is how healthy a person is. If they are healthy and happy even if they are bigger, that's fine. If they are thin and happy, fine. Why must we always criticize another person just because they are different from us? Bigger girls hate "those skinny bitches" and thinner girls hate "those fat bitches." Then we females wonder why men treat us like bitches. I'm sick of this big competition women have over which is better. If "big is beautiful" then skinny is beautiful too. Why can't it just be that "women are beautiful" (minus a few uggos of course...had to have my little lol in a serious post).

Anyway - I don't care what the hell size you are if you're a nice, intelligent person who can carry on a decent conversation. You could be the most attractive guy in the world and then open your mouth and a river of bullshit starts flowing and you suddenly become less than interesting. What good is a pretty face and body with no mind to back it up? Sex I suppose, but even that can get dull with a dull personality. I'm over this topic - was never really that into it to begin with. I get irritated with all of the judgment and bullshit that goes along with weight. Be healthy and be the best you you can be. If someone doesn't like your appearance right from the get go, it's just a waste of your time. Find someone who appreciates it. They exist.

No comments:

Post a Comment