I came up with a title for this entry. I'm rather proud of myself. Appropriate? Very. I'm also in a very good mood - I guess getting a new car can do that for you. New to me, old to someone else, but really it's like new. It is, predictably, exactly the car I never thought I would buy, but I, predictably, did the unpredictable thing and bought it because I love it. That was confusing, but if you think about it, it makes sense...I am predictably unpredictable. Look how smart I can be at 1:30 am! Buying cars is a funny business. Everyone has an opinion about it. Buy this because it's better, blah blah blah. Then they tell you a story about how they had that kind of car and it was terrible but buy this one instead. It makes sense that people are like this - after all, buying a car is never a good investment, and so people have to compete with each other to show that they made the best investment when really, all we are doing is spending money on something that will never go up in value unless you own a classic mustang or something that you never drove and is still in mint condition. I'm not interested in the whole "investment" part of it...and I also realized that the more I looked at cars, the less interested I was in other people's opinions of them. One of my old friends used to say that opinions are like assholes, everyone has one. Of course. There will always be someone trying to rain on your parade without actually looking like they are raining on your parade. We humans have some weird thing that makes us want to compete with each other and secretly show the other guy up. It gives us some sort of satisfaction to know that we did better, scored higher, look better than someone else. It's pretty fucked up if you think about it, but find one person who isn't actually like this and you've found someone who has fooled everyone into thinking that they aren't like that when in fact they are probably more like this than the other people who aren't so adept at hiding this covert operation. Really though, not caring is essential to dealing with these problems, and I am right now feeling light and airy and free and wonderful because I finally accomplished something that I have been wanting to do and needing to do for a long while.
The bitches part of this entry needs not be as long as the new car discussion - bitches are bitches and that is pretty much it. Most bitches don't think they're as bitchy as they are, and most of the problems they have that they try to solve with bitchiness could have been dealt with much more effectively in an "un-bitchy" way. It's amazing how simple some things are, but how complicated people make them.
Hot men are also a pretty uncomplicated thing to discuss. For whatever reason, tonight I had a deluge of hot men come through my line at the package store I work at. One after the next after the next. I guess that contributed a bit to my good mood. I did have one annoying customer tonight, a guy who was clearly at least in his late twenties stood at the one closed register while he waited for his friends to pay for their huge cart full of booze and pressed the green enter button on the pinpad. Over. And Over. I did my best to not say anything, because I really couldn't think of anything nice to say. As I rang up his friends, all that was audible was *beep* *beep* *beep* beep*. He was clearly very pleased with himself. His friends ignored him. They seemed practiced at it, obviously much more practiced than me. He left, as his friends were yelling at him to get going, but not without one more *beep* and a satisfied smug grin directed toward me. I could just feel it. He was just waiting for me to say something. The only thing that crossed my mind was, *Should I offer him a lollipop so he will stop doing that because seriously, only a fucking five year old would do something that annoying continually and think it was socially acceptable behavior.* Actually, as I consider it now, a five year old would probably lose interest after two beeps. Not this guy. He was in it for the win. He won, of course. The most annoying customer of the night award. Of course, all the hot men made up for it. Generally, my line is filled with old people, sleazy drunks, and couples who are just a few years older than me but look like they've let themselves go. Not tonight. Tonight was eye candy night for me. If only it would happen every night I worked, maybe I could completely forget about juvenile men who must push buttons to amuse themselves, and of course...bitches.
Friday, June 19, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment